IEEE IAS Industrial Power Converter Systems Department Minutes of the 12/04/2021 Online Annual Meeting

Panelists:

- Pericle Zanchetta, Chair of Industrial Power Conversion Systems Department
- Fernando Briz, Vice Chair of Industrial Power Conversion Systems Department
- Wei-Jen, IAS President
- Leon Tolbert, IPCSD Awards Chair (absent due to work duties)
- Ayman El Refaye, IAS Publications Chair
- Emmanuel Agamloh, IPCSD Standards committee Chair
- Akira Chiba, Chair of Industrial Drives Committee
- Mahesh Swamy, Chair of Industrial Drives Committee
- Luca Solero, Chair of Industrial Power Converter Committee
- Tanya Gachovska, Chair of Power Electronic Devices and Components Committee
- Bulent Sarlioglu, Chair of Transportation Systems Committee
- Chara Bochiaret, IAS Meetings Department Chair
- Giovanna Oriti, ECCE 2021 Chair
- Emmanuel Agamloh, ECCE 2021 Chair
- Adel Nasiri, Chair of Renewable and Sustainable Energy Conversion Systems Committee, didn't attend

Slides used at the meeting are available.

* State of the IAS (Wei-Jen Lee, IAS President)

Mahesh rises the issue of double counting IEEE fellows belonging to two societies. Wei-Jen responds that the numbers are provided by IEEE, not by the societies.

* Report on the IPCSD Awards Committee (Leon Tolbert, IPCSD Awards Chair)

No questions

* Report on IAS editorial meeting (Ayman EL-Refaie, IAS Publications Chair)

Giovanna brings the issue that sometimes AEs are not the ones to be blamed for the delays in the revision process, often the delays come from publications chairs. This is something to discuss at department level.

* Report on IPCSD standards committee (Emmanuel Agamloh, IPCSD Standards committee Chair)

Ayman suggest hybrid propulsion for aerospace would be a good topic for a standard. Emmanuel might contact transportation TC to discuss it.

* IPCSD involvement in APEC update (Fernando Briz, IPCSD Vice-Chair)

No questions

- * Key updates of technical committees (standards, websites, papers & conferences, other)
- IDC (Mahesh Swamy, EMC Chair)

Giovanna asks about female committee members for IDC. At present Milijana Odavic, from University of Sheffield, is the Awards Comittee Chair

- EMC (Akira Chiba, EMC Chair)

No questions

- IPCC (Luca Solero, IPCC Chair)

No questions

- RSECS (Adel Nasiri, RSECS Chair)

Not present

- TSC (Bulent Sarlioglu, TSC Chair)

Giovanna contratulates Bulent on his upgrade to IEEE fellow, and asks about female committee members for TSC. Bulent is aware of the need to work on that.

- PEDCC (Tanya Gachovska, PEDCC Chair)

No questions

* IAS Meetings Dept. (Chiara Boccaletti, IAS Meetings Dept. Chair)

No questions

* ECCE 2021 Update (Giovanna Oriti, ECCE 2021 Chair)

No questions

Chiara comments large share of female members in ECCE'21 organizations, and points out that IAS has also been very active and successful in this regard

* ECCE 2022 Update (Emmanuel Agamloh, ECCE 2022 Chair)

No questions

* New IPCSD officers for 2022-23 (Ayman El-Refaie and Pericle Zanchetta)

Ayman proposes Luca Solero as new Secretary of IPSCD, seconded by Pericle, unanimously approved.

* Closing remarks & Motion to adjourn – 1 min. (Pericle Zanchetta, IPCSD Chair)

Motion from Pericle to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Ayman

Meeting adjourned at 17:30 GTM time